The Albert L. Bricklin Memorial Award is given each year by Bennett, Bricklin & Saltzburg LLC to a Temple University Beasley School of Law student who achieves the highest cumulative grade point average in the evening division’s graduating class. The award was created to honor Albert Bricklin, one of the founding partners of Bennett, Bricklin & Saltzburg LLC.

Albert Bricklin was born and educated in Philadelphia graduating from Central High, the University of Pennsylvania and ultimately Temple School of Law’s evening division where he completed his four year course of study during the great depression in 1938. He would attend classes in the evenings and, like many of today’s evening division students, did so after completing the full day of work necessary to make ends meet.

Following graduation, Mr. Bricklin clerked in several law offices and then joined the Army Air Corps during World War II where he served until discharge in 1945. Shortly thereafter, he joined with Milton Bennett to create “Bennett and Bricklin” a partnership which maintained a general practice until the 1950’s when the firm slowly found its way into the insurance defense field and has remained ever since. Albert remained with the firm throughout his career practicing there until his death in 1992. During that time he developed a reputation as a superb trial lawyer ultimately serving a term as President of the Philadelphia Association of Defense Counsel. More important to the firm he left behind, he maintained a reputation for honesty and fair dealing that was second to none. Since his death, the firm has continued to grow with offices in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York. It now does business as Bennett, Bricklin & Saltzburg LLC (David Saltzburg, who joined the firm in 1967 was also a 1938 graduate of Temple Law’s evening division).

The firm has endowed this prize in Albert Bricklin’s honor. He took great pride in his evening division background holding it out as an example of what could be accomplished with perseverance and a drive to succeed. The firm is proud to endow this award in his name.

Award Recipients

  • Zhenyu Yang (May 2007)
  • Jonathan A. Grode (May 2008)
  • Michael C. Duffy (May 2009)
  • Stephen T. Descano (May 2010)
  • Ryan Firestone (May 2011)
  • Duke Michael Fitch (May 2012)
  • Domingos J. Silva (May 2013)
  • Katherine Bender Commons (May 2014) 
  • Zachary J. Gorman (May 2015) - Pictured above with Member Louis E. Bricklin